top of page

What are the Five Pillars of Reiki?

The Five Reiki Pillars honour the traditional way of Mikao Usui’s teachings. They consist of developing spiritual and mental focus through the following:

  1. The Reiki Principles

  2. Hands on Healing

  3. Meditations and Techniques

  4. Reiki Symbols and Mantras

  5. Reiji and Attunements or Initiations.

I’m extremely lucky that my Reiki Master, Annabel, attended a workshop with Frank Arjava Petter and his wife Chetna who lived in Japan. They came across a manuscript compiled by Usui himself. These are some of the exercises and meditations that he recommended to use as part of our Reiki training. I teach many of these healing techniques in my Reiki Courses.

Japanese Garden

The book by Frank Arjava Petter ‘The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui’ is available with a foreword by William Lee Rand, and I highly recommend reading it. Here are the Five Reiki Pillars explained in a little more detail: The Reiki Principles A precept is a code of practice, a bit like an instruction to help you live a more fulfilled and loving life. The 5 Reiki Principles are: Just for today I will let go of anger Just for today I will let go of fear Just for today I will live in the attitude of gratitude Just for today I will do my work honestly Just for today I will show love and respect for every living thing Mikao Usui is believed to have received these Reiki principles through a meditation. They are now taught as a way of living. Hands on Healing Chiryo which translates in English to Treatment, is where the Reiki practitioner places hands on or just off the body to allow Ki (life force energy) to clear stagnant energy physically and emotionally. Once the body senses the Ki, it takes it where it needs and wants it. I use the term "practitioner" instead of "healer" because it is not the practitioner doing the healing, but the universal Ki flowing where it needs to. Everybody has their own intuitive ability to heal oneself. Reiki puts you in touch with that innate healing ability. Meditations and Techniques There are three main foundational techniques taught in the traditional Reiki method. Practitioners practice a cleansing technique, Kenyoku Hô, a breathing meditation, Jôshin Kokyû Hô and a Gassho meditation to help quieten the mind and open the heart. These practices are added to and expanded upon with each level of the Reiki courses I teach. I also teach more techniques which help increase your energy flow and unify the mind. Reiki Symbols and Mantras The Jumon (mantras) and Shirushi (symbols), are used to awaken an inner dormant energy. These Reiki symbols have come from Usui, who received them from a higher Source. Thousands of Reiki channels all over the world are also using these symbols, creating a mass consciousness of its own for each symbol. Therefore, you are tapping into this consciousness every time you are using the symbol, being aware of this helps you realise the potency of their powers! There are traditionally 4 Reiki Symbols, 3 of which are taught in Reiki Level 2, and the final symbol known as The Master Symbol is taught in the Reiki Master Level. However, due to my Reiki lineage, I have 4 extra symbols that I teach to my Reiki students. Reiji and Attunements or Initiations Reiji (Spiritual Blessing or Devotion) and attunements or initiations are the rituals that differentiate Reiki from other healing modalities. The ability to do Reiki is passed like a gift between master and student during the initiation ceremony. The intention is that the student will remember his or her own connection to the universe. As a Reiki Master Teacher, I initiate and give an attunement to my students at each Reiki Level Course to increase their energy flow with this spiritual ceremony I’ve been taught by my Reiki Master. So, in conclusion, Chiryo (treatment) builds upon Reiji (devotion) and Gassho meditation unifies the mind. Only when we can devote ourselves without being haunted by our thoughts and feelings, will we become an instrument for the universal life force energy of Reiki.

Japanese Garden 2

If you want to learn Reiki at any level, please feel free to contact me and we can to have a chat. I run Reiki Courses and workshops throughout the year for all Reiki levels. Let’s get social, you can find me on social media via my Instagram and Tik Tok account @ela_nedra Love & Light Emma Ela Nedra Health


bottom of page